Pick of the Week: Amy Poehler’s “Yes Please”

20910157

I almost went with the Parenthood finale, but since I already waxed poetic about it for far too long in my review, my pick this week is Amy Poehler’s fabulous book, Yes Please. I’m a bit late to the party (this came out back in October), but I’m enjoying it so much. Stuffed to the brim with fun SNL anecdotes, stories about her upbringing and emergence in the comedy world, and uplifting bits of advice (for young women in particular, but in a way that never feels preachy), it’s a thoroughly entertaining read. She also wrote a refreshingly honest introductory bit about the struggles of writing, which I could definitely relate to. I’m a huge fan of memoirs by comedians, and this is the best one that I’ve read in a long time. If you haven’t yet, go check it out!

Leave a Reply

