Review: The Mindy Project 4.05

Summary: Mindy and Danny each try their hand at stay-at-home parenting and realize how difficult it is. At the practice, Collette asks for Morgan’s help with keeping a secret from her brother.

Best Scene: Mindy has a talk with her little man about their current situation.

Best Line: “I just want you to be proud of me, baby. Which is why I have to go back to work.”

My Review: I’m a little worried that I sound like a broken record, but I think this episode was great. It gave us a look at stay-at-home parenting in a way that wasn’t the least bit sexist (a rarity on TV), showed Mindy and Danny tackling their first family crisis, and provided some fun, surprisingly emotional practice shenanigans.

I liked Mindy and Danny’s adventures in parenting for a few different reasons. One, their experiences were pleasantly equal, with Danny not thinking for a moment that Mindy should stay home because she’s a woman. Rather, he thinks she should stay home because, right now at least, that’s what he truly believes she wants. I bristled a little at the start of the episode when Danny had certain expectations for what Mindy should do as a stay-at-home mom, but once it became clear that he had those same expectations for himself when it was his turn, it didn’t bother me at all. Danny’s an old-fashioned guy, so it makes sense that he would have an old-fashioned view of what a stay-at-home parent looks like, regardless of their gender. What makes this storyline so nice is that when Mindy comes clean about wanting to go back to work, I know that Danny is going to support her 100%, and that together they’ll find an alternative solution that works for both of them.

I also like that the show addressed the (wildly inaccurate) idea that maintaining a household is somehow easier than a standard job. When Danny Castellano has to admit defeat and call his mom for help, you know it’s just about the toughest job out there. Speaking of Mama Castellano, when are we going to see her back on our screen? I know she’s obviously met Leo already, but I’m excited to see her reaction to him in person. As for Danny’s other parent, for a moment I thought that little D was telling Danny their dad had died, so I was actually relieved to hear it was only a heart attack. We haven’t really seen Mindy and Danny tackle a family crisis as a couple, and I love that Mindy jumped into action and took control of the situation, which is just what someone needs from their partner during an emergency. Mindy putting her own needs on the back burner for a moment also showed how much she loves Danny and knew that it wasn’t the time or place for that conversation. However, it is a conversation they’re going to have to have, and I’m curious to see what the outcome of it will be.

At the practice, we learned quite a bit more about new recruits Jody and Collette, and happily, I actually liked what we learned. I already liked Collette after last week, but this episode did even more to endear her to me. The reveal that she’s a lesbian, but too nervous to tell her brother was a more realistic conundrum than we usually see with the folks at the practice. However, it still led to the usual hilarious moments we see there, with Morgan over committing to the plan to play Collette’s boyfriend, even after she told her brother the truth. Speaking of, that moment made me way more emotional than I though it would, considering I just met these characters a week ago. Jody’s reaction to Collette’s coming out, as well as his conversation with Mindy after surgery, were both significant improvements over his behavior last week, but it does have me wondering exactly what kind of guy he is. Casually sexist/racist dude with a heart of gold, maybe? After two episodes, I’m still having a hard time getting a read on him, but I think one more episode may make his personality a little clearer.

Finally, I have to give a shout out to Jeremy, who wasn’t in a whole lot of the episode but made his moments count. From his unintentionally funny intercom moments (the wifi password, lecturing Jody about using it to announce leftovers) to his throwaway comment about boarding school, he delivered some of the biggest laughs of the episode.

What are your thoughts on this episode and Danny and Mindy’s stay-at-home dilemma? Let me know in the comments!

Leave a Reply

