Review: The Mindy Project 4.18 and 4.19

I’m making this one a combo review because I thought last week’s episode was great but didn’t get a chance to write about it.

That episode found Mindy exploring her heritage, making her first Indian friend and having Leo take part in a traditional Mundan ceremony. This season has shown a more grounded side of Mindy (both the character and the show itself), and this storyline was a nice example of that. Mindy had a genuine curiosity about her background that was both mature and believable, especially when she took Neel’s rejection as an opportunity to learn rather than being offended by it. It was also sweet to see Mindy’s whole family together; aspects of her personality always become clearer when you see who she got them from. Her parents reassuring her that every baby cries during the ceremony was a nice moment too, and I’m glad that she ended up having Leo finish it.

That story ended with a great Mindy/Danny conversation about things that are important to each of them as parents, and it was nice to see them actually respecting and listening to one another (especially Danny, who I fully expected to overreact to Leo’s new ‘do).

Both last week’s and this week’s episode featured the delightful Lauren Cohan, who I’ve loved since her stint on Chuck. Her character Ashley was great, not only because she showed a nice side of Jody, but also because I love seeing a fun, flirty, unapologetic virgin on TV. A lot of times shows stick to the kind of homely, awkward stereotype who feels like he or she has something to be ashamed of, and Ashley’s a more realistic alternative to that. I also like that she stood up for herself with both Morgan and Jody, recognizing that she wasn’t top priority for either of them, though it is a bummer that we probably won’t see more with her character because of it. Granted, Cohan’s a tiny bit busy with The Walking Dead, so I know it was never designed to be a long-term thing.

This week’s episode also had Mindy reuniting with Casey, and while it’s always fun to see one of Mindy’s exes, I’m glad that it didn’t take her long to realize that getting back together with him was a bad idea. Mindy’s grown a lot since they dated, and they’re even less compatible now than they were then. There’s potential with Casey’s friend; they had decent chemistry, and even though he was kind of a jerk in the beginning, I appreciated that he was so protective of his friend.

That being said, I really do want to see Jody and Mindy actually make a go of it. I get that it’s awkward if she’s talking about having feelings for someone else, but she’s also uncharacteristically oblivious to his feelings for her, so I think he’ll have to just admit it eventually. She should kind of already know because of that almost coffee date a few eps back, but I’d understand if she took his abrupt cancellation as a lack of interest.

A couple of other thoughts on this ep:

Jody’s wardrobe transformation was spectacular (hello sir!), but I loved Ashley, Morgan, and Tamra’s descriptions of him beforehand even more, especially Tamra’s spot-on observation that he dresses like the narrator in a play.

The Buchanan musical bit was amazing, especially Jeremy’s obsession with it, though it did point to his inconsistent characterization. I’ve talked about this before, but I never know if he’s supposed to be a charming cad or an adorable nerd. It’s not that he can’t be both, just that he seems to favor one over the other depending on the episode instead of having one cohesive personality.

What are your thoughts on these episodes? Let me know in the comments!

2 thoughts on “Review: The Mindy Project 4.18 and 4.19

  1. HOW good is this show? I’m so glad it got a second chance because I was so sad when it initially got cancelled. Fantastic review. I need to go back and watch the last season before the new one starts so cheers for the reminder.

    Great blog too by the way. Would you be interested in sharing your work on Creators? Feel free to shoot me an e-mail if you’d like me to expand on that. I’d love to hear from you. You can find my contact details on my blog.

    Like

    • Thanks for the nice comment! I felt the same way when it was cancelled the first time; those couple weeks before Hulu picked it up were the worst. So glad they saved this awesome show!

      And I’m definitely interested in hearing more about Creators, sending you an email now…

      Like

Leave a Reply

